Controversial

I wanted to share with you some of the things my patients shared with me.  This is one of my most favorite compliments.  One of my patients was trying to explain this work to friends and coworkers.  Those of you who have experienced it, you know that it is difficult to comprehend, even more difficult to explain to the uninitiated.  It is perplexing how such light, precise, direct touch can accomplish so much.  Herein lies the mystery, the beauty (and if you heard me whisper some of my personal experiences, the profundity, is that a word?) and ultimately/unfortunately how others are able to perpetrate a fraud upon the unknowing and unsuspecting public.  She was at a loss for words and she summarized it this way, “Dr. Hoang…knows things that other doctors don’t.”  I just thought that was so cool.  Another new patient referred 2 friends and he said, “She could tell me,just by touching me where something happened, which way it was going…”  Neat.  Thanks guys.  There are a bunch of Armenians in Glendale who think I am a “miracle worker.”  And for them I can understand how they think that.  I can only thank them for taking care of themselves (and not altering their strains) that I am able to help their bodies return to closer to normal within one visit.  Awesome.  Before you guys start rolling your eyeballs, thinking, “Her head is getting fatter by the minute,” I will reassure you that that will never happen.  Do you know why?

I have to eat humble pie quite frequently, almost everyday.  I do get it from every direction mind you.   In fact, I’m starting to not like pie at all.  The MDs who don’t know anything of osteopathic work think that I am a second class doctor.  The skeptics who will go to chiropractors, massage therapists, reiki, reflexology 1. have so altered their strains that it is more work for me, 2. they give me fewer chances to get results, 3. they are more skeptical of me even though I am way more educated then all the other people they have already seen (combined), 4. they don’t realize that skeptics and certain personality types can resist treatment.

I also have a few patients who have experienced results and know of others who have benefited despite the fact that these cases are so different.  These women work in the healthcare setting and they know the system.  They see people hurting and suffering within that system.  They tell me that they want to say something to those suffering but feel that they cannot for fear of reprisals.  In the MD/CMS setting they want to say something about OMT (and me) but cannot.  I reassure them that I understand completely.  I do not expect that they risk anything to tell others about this important work.  I do fine.  I have a solid reputation.  All my referrals are word of mouth, now even 2-3 degrees of separation.

Many of you ask, how come I have not heard of this before? or How come no one ever told me about you?  The reasons above explain part of our difficulties.  I do have to explain the other reasons for why others do not broadly discuss osteopathic work; this is an unwritten conspiracy of silence.  Because it is so subtle, other less skilled, less educated, intellectually dishonest people will keep quiet and let others suffer.  It is primarily an issue of…economics and secondarily, aspiration.  Within the San Gabriel Valley, people know of us traditional osteopathic physicians, myself and several other colleagues.  I know and hear of physical therapists, massage therapists, chiropractors who know our work and yet I have never had a single referral.  (I know because these patients eventually come to me still strained and still suffering and they tell me they’ve seen this person or that person, doing this or that and charging them a certain amount; invariably, they got jack for their money).  If these practitioners admit that they are less skilled even though they have taken osteopathic weekend courses that have been significantly “watered down”  for their consumption, then their business would be completely decimated.  It might have blogged of this before.  When their clients leave them for lack of results, they keep mum, and do not discuss osteopathic as an option.  Someday, I might blog about the secondary issue of Aspiration, maybe not at all…

Those of you out there who are my most stalwart and staunch supporters, rest assured, I will continue to fight the good fight.  Please share these blogs with your friends and family, pass it along.  I hope to shed light on some of the inner workings of the medical system so that you may educate yourself and others.  Most of all be skeptical of what is first offered to you, seek second opinions and always expect and demand results.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chronic Pain, Pediatrics

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

