Ethical Dilemma

I find myself in an ethical dilemma.  I use this blog to share my cases and what I am seeing out there in the medical consuming public.  It is not primarily a place to rant and rave about a specific profession or problem.  Ideally, this blog serves to share with people how I came about some of these conclusions based on my medical training/background and most importantly clinical experience.  By now, after all these posts, I hope that you have gathered that I am a minimalist in my medical philosophy and in life, generally (primarily because of my immigrant background).  I find there just is much too much  of having things done to the body.  Once things have been done, it is hard to go back.  After an initial injury, the sane, minimalist immigrant approach is to leave it alone, let it calm down and….go back to work, or in Our Most Natural State, forage for survival.  Here in the US, because of the vast medical consumption possibilities, it is very rare that I get a patient who is a pure unadulterated mechanical strain.  It does happen occasionally and these people find OMT to be “amazing” and my hands “miraculous” after just one visit.  But most of the time, I get these “go-go-go” personalities who “research” and believe nonsense about how this or that can help.  They are in pain from some past mechanical trauma and they think that massaging, chiropractic, PT yanking, ultrasound, deep tissue pummeling of their muscles, beating them into submission is going to resolve anything?  Or even worse believing that  injecting, cutting, inserting a battery/external electrical source (nerve stimulator) will help?  People! wake up!  With just these words, please visualize what these other people propose to do to you.  In your debilitated pain state do those ‘treatment modalities’ not sound more…..traumatic?  That is why OMT is so powerful.  It is gentle simply because the mechanically traumatized and strained body wants precise removal of that traumatic force.  It looks so easy.  Let me tell that it is not.  It took me a long time to comprehend the beauty of Osteopathy and this is 11 years after graduating as a pediatrician.  Please beware.  There plenty of fakers and wannabes out there who think they can do it because it looks so simple.  Ha-ha joke is on them.  They think they can take a stinky little weekend course here and there from a less than successful sellout DO (ie, inferior in skill/talent) and claim to offer you OMT (only a DO can legally render OMT).

Once the damage is done, please just back off.  The body needs time to recover.  Once it recovers, then with osteopathic treatment it has a chance to heal.

My dilemma is should I keep my mouth shut?  I keep seeing the same thing, over and over again.  People need to be warned about the damage that other people can unwittingly force upon already debilitated bodies.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chronic Pain

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

