Glad to be a D.O.

Yep.  I am in my right place.  I was such a nerd in school.  Loved biology and human development.  Of course the predominant medical system is the statistical biochemical model.  So when I knew I was going to be a pediatrician, not going to need this, babies don’t have back and musculoskeletal problems.  Boy, was I wrong.  Man! If anything, chronic problems of infants and children, tend not to be biochemical.  Hello?!!  If anything, the primary problems tend to be mechanical.   The sad thing is they do hurt, they do have chronic medical problems.  The only problem is that they don’t know how to communicate their distress and pain.  That is for us to figure out.

So I found my way back to being a real D.O. about 10 years ago.  Boy, am I glad I landed in the right place.  Since then, I really don’t trust everything the ‘experts’ say anymore.  I now subject what people say through a crucible of healthy reserve and if it doesn’t pass the smell test, then well, I discard it.   Read my future post on “Pseudotumor” wherein I share with you how they think.   I just think we have more common ‘horse’ sense.  Unfortunately, if you are reading this and you agree with me, then you have been burned by the system.

Now in practice for 10years in my own office, some really neat things are happening.  Adults are referring me to their adult friends and families for osteopathic manipulative treatments.  But last year was the year of two people separately, who don’t know each other, being told to see me.  Cool.  This year, is the year of “friend of a friend.’  My goal now is to continue developing my skills so that I can get more results and faster.  I am excited for the next 30 years.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

