Pushing is Necessary, But Not Even Ideal

I just delivered my second child six weeks ago and I am pleased as punch to have experienced it naturally, differently and ideally.  With my first baby, the water (the amniotic sac) ruptured at home when I was 3cm.  Without the sac, contractions were very painful and uneven and eventually I needed pitocin.  At the end I was told to push – it took 3 good ones and my first came out and tore me good.  I tell people that I am grateful for the experience and pain of the second.  I felt a gush.  They looked and yelled that my sac was ‘bulging.’  Then the head came.  Two screams and she came out.  I still had to be sewn up.  The big deal is that at 8cm, only 90% effaced, I felt like pushing, like things were going to be coming out soon.  Everyone told me don’t push, don’t push, you’re not ready.  The great thing was that I wasn’t pushing.  It was just happening.  The next day as I was recovering, my nurse commented that it was ‘amazing’ that I was able to walk so well.  This suprised me for a couple of reasons: 1) this is the natural state.  delivering the baby with the water allows less friction on the baby and allows for faster delivery; the sudden expansion also allows for an instantaneous, elastic bounce back of the maternal pelvis.  the wildebeest on the Serengeti plain plops out the baby in one instantaneous gush and in  2 minutes both mother and baby are able to pick up and run away from predators; 2) I suspect that nurses are so used to seeing unnatural that they do not recognize the ideal, normal, natural state.  With the first baby, the pitocin mechanically used my baby’s head to open up the pelvic passageway – bad for  the baby and bad for me.  She ended up very colicky, which I think is headache.  It took a week for me to walk normally.

So now I am able to rethink: even without meds, the most natural ideal delivery has to occur with the sac intact.  Without the fluid frictionless buffer, intervention and longer recovery are more likely.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pediatrics

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

