#1 Rule for Avoiding C-section!

“Go on honey, it’s okay, have some more.  You’re eating

for two.”  This supportive statement, however

well intentioned, is a one-way, fast-track ticket

to a C-section!  I chastise my husband, “No, I am

eating my usual, the baby and I are splitting the

meal! ”  The number one reason for C-section is FTP – failure to progress.  The baby is not coming out.  Why?  the pelvis is not wide enough to accomodate the great big giant melon of a head.  Bad things happen we try to force this.  The answer is prevention.  To prevent this, we should be eating the right foods in the right amount.  At 38wks, we did a 3D ultrasound of my second baby.  The estimated weight of my second was going to be 8lbs.  For an average (by American standards) sized 100% Vietnamese woman (narrow, slender hips)  I was hoping for a 6lber on  my first. Nope, didn’t happen.  Eight would even be unnaturally large.  Scared of complications and the dreaded C-section, I did some last minute changes to my eating habits.  No processed foods.  Only fruits, vegetables and noodle soups.  She came in under 8lbs, 2 ounces less than the first, 1/2 in shorter, with amniotic sac intact, shorter active labor and quicker recovery.  This was an ideal, natural state delivery and very close to a near perfect pregnancy (if only i had eaten zero processed foods, the baby would have been somewhere in the 6lb range.)

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Pediatrics

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

