Teething rings do not work!!

Babies don’t like them. Would you? They are too cold to hold.

Male deer or elk shed their antlers annually as a prelude to the regeneration, or re-growth, of new ones. Their horns, covered in velvet, are very sensitive so they rub frantically to get it off.

One day I was examining a 6 month old with early signs of the first tooth eruption. The baby was drooling like crazy. I saw a sliver of white trying to break through some swollen gums and I thought of those elk. I took my tongue depressor and started filing away.

SURPRISE!!   The baby loved it and smiled while I continued to file.

Since then every baby has responded in the same way. For infants under 1 year I use my fingers and rub firmly. With my baby I use a toothbrush and brush her red and swollen gums. Now that my daughter is 15 months, she holds her own baby toothbrush as I supervise. Caution – Don’t leave your child walking around unattended with a toothbrush in hand or mouth.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pediatrics

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

