Doctor, Why Do My Legs Feel Heavy?

I have heard this many, many times.  Those legs feel like tree trunks.  It is so much work lifting them to walk, go up stairs, much less even run.  Another patient described them as “walking through molasses.”  Why?  You problably have had a whole lot of problems in that poor pelvis.  I have seen this in past falls to the buttocks, bad multiple car accidents, rear end collisions, and many years after hip replacement surgeries.  If you have a problem with your elephant legs, then you are, in non-technical terms, really messed up.  People with pelvic problems also have hip problems, feet pain, neck pain, back pain and headaches.  

I have this patient who was jogging and got hit by a car; his brain started to swell on the way to the hospital, he became belligerent so the EMTs had to restrain him.  He was in the ICU they were watching and if the swelling continued, they would drill a hole through his skull to release the pressure (if not he could die within minutes); he was eventually stabilized and went home 2wks later.  After he came home, his personality changed, he was volatile and started to become afraid of being alone with his 1 year old daughter (emotional, not feeling good); he was afraid of hurting his own daughter.  I saw him twice.  After the first visit he exclaimed to his wife, “I don’t know what she did, but she’s welcome to feel me up anytime!”   He did not come back after the second visit because the medical bills were piling up.  Two years later, he comes back.  My shoulder is very painful, my legs feel heavy, my breathing is tight, running is not enjoyable anymore.  I told him, “Your shoulder pain is coming from your hip.”  He replied that I saw a problem with his hip 2 years ago.  He was perplexed.  I said, “Ron, you are mere flesh and blood. 2 years ago, you go into a fight with steel and concrete.  You lost.  I am not a miracle worker.”  It is now 6 visits, this second time around.  The breathing is easier, the shoulder is better, the legs are lighter, the whole body is lighter.  He comes in now every 2 or 3 weeks when he feels his body tighten up.  Soon he will be out once a month and he and i will be eventually done.

Yes, there is a treatment. Yes, there is a cure.  I have done it many times.  I even have patients test raise each leg. I do a treatment and right there and then, I have them recheck as proof that I know what I’m doing.  It is beautiful.  In these last 6 months, since August 2010, I have used this quickie technique to show patients how strained tissues can instantaneously change.  I grab a hold of strained tissues and actively reduce strain.  Wow.  It is a lot of work on my fingers.  It has only been this last week that I discovered what our osteopathic teachers have been talking about all along.  Hey, you guys out there, my patients and readers, all three of you who know that I am way gentle, yes…this is even more subtle than what I have been currently doing.  I have been doing osteopathic manipulative treatments for the last 11years and I finally, just this week realized how to do more precision, even less force work to achieve more dramatic change.  What is this huge epiphany?  Sorry, can’t tell you.  This is proprietary knowledge that belongs to the DOs.  Go to DO school, pay $250,000 for your education, study for 11 years (4 years college, 4 years medical school, minimum 3 yrs training), then ask me and maybe I will open my mouth and go into a lengthy exposition.

For those of you searching for answers, how can I help direct your search?  Since this blog was first posted, so many, many of you people out there have searched for answers and I bet you got a big fat zip for your efforts at those other (MD) web sites; yes even the ones that are really reputable and that are by institutions of medicine that I like.  The answer for you is Osteopathy…

Read my prior posts about osteopathic, health, our (traditional osteopathic physicians) and search for a DO licensed to practice medicine in your state.  Absolutely do not let anyone crack your back or neck, yank your legs or hips.  I will tell you that hands on osteopathic treatment styles can vary between different DOs; I liken it to the martial arts, some people are very subtle, some people are out there fru-fru energy stuff; I am more hands on cranking mechanical…I like to prove before and after within minutes in a visit because my goal is for you to trust.  Call and ask about experience and comfort with treating mechanically.  We charge for our time to get results so that you…do not need to come back.

7/29/11 ADDENDUM:  since i first wrote this post there have been 2300 searches on this topic.  you people out there are searching for help…i know what your problem is and can cure those legs…there was also one comment that this post did not provide any real answers to this question…unfortunately, it took me this long to figure this out and to try to explain to lay people what their problem is and how to fix it themselves would be impossible; in fact i have 2 local colleagues that have more experience and  different treatment styles and even they don’t know about this; so this is essentially my own discovery…today, i test explained this idea to one of these 2 colleagues; at first she did not seem too impressed – yes, my legs are about 10% lighter only after 10mins, so what?  big deal…. it took about 20minutes when the changes worked themselves up into her neck, face and jaw that i saw a twinkle of respect…so come to California for your cure or if you can afford it fly me in for a consultation…in the meanwhile, i will continue to discuss this topic with my colleagues and teachers; perhaps we can develop a course or training program so that you can find a trained osteopathic physician to address this issue specifically; you guys out there need to demand it of us DOs; sign up for my this blog; i check daily on the traffic, when there is enough demand, a critical mass is reached, hey, how about crashing this site with volume? maybe it will drive and impel us to do more.

1/4/2012  ADDENDUM:  since i first posted this blog, there have been 6300 views.  so many of you out there…i don’t know what to tell you…i am working on trying to get interest so that MDs and DOs can be inspired to learn this.  to get really good treating hands, it takes about a minimum of 7 years, i don’t know if physicians in general, want to spend more time and money to learn something that will free you up and not keep you coming back; especially if they are satisfied, churning the repeat volume…we shall see…i will keep you posted…

9/13/13 ADDENDUM: I just completed my new beverly hills website, it is cleaner with lots of new spectacular photos at http://www.holisticpaindoc.com Go to the video gallery and you will see what this is you. I am sorry, but I believe that very few osteopaths in the world can get these changes so instantaneously.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chronic Pain

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Doctor, Why Do My Legs Feel Heavy?”

  1. A.M. Says:

    The comment above poked at MD sites not giving any answers, but this site didn’t give any real information either. MD’s sometimes have the answer, Chiropractors sometimes have the answer, no need to downgrade the other.

    I went to a very good chiropractor for years, but when I started going to very knowledgable massage therapists, my whole health changed. I am healthier now than I have ever been, thanks to my massage therapists.

    • letrinh Says:

      i am not just “poking at MD sites.” i trained at an MD/allopathic institution. i am held to the MD, statistical, standard of care. i see and i know the cracks and failures. the point i hope to convey is the difference in the philosophical approach to medical care. you commented on the “heavy legs post.” as i mentioned before, i always do before and after testing to prove to my patients, right there in the room with me. these patients have already been to MDs, PTs, chiros, which reaffirm for me what i already know of the cracks and failures. what i do can not be explained step by step on a limited post, besides, since it is my ‘baby’ i certainly would not take pains to go extra miles to teach untrained persons this knowledge; i devised this immediate proof of causation for hopeful, yet skeptical patients; this little technique was not taught to me specifically and if you ever go to a traditional osteopath, i am quite sure you will not have this (specific) experience with any other osteopathic physician. it is apparent that you suspect and are aware of the failures of the standard medical care. the ‘good chiros’ you have been to were probably ‘non-force.’ what is a chiropractor without the high velocity cracking? the “knowledgeable massage therapists” you have been to have probably taken watered down weekend courses taught by…osteopaths who could not cut the mustard and survive on skills alone…’ i do appreciate that you defend those who have helped you, but…your health has improved because you are involved in your care and you are searching for answers for its complete return. the question is why are you not completely better. regarding “downgrading others,” i just consider my posts rather blunt and matter of fact and filled with cautionary words based on my medical and community experience; since you found this specific post, this tells me that you are still not quite right…despite all the help you have received…you have received only partial treatment and probably only a quarter of what can be done; they are all very well intentioned, but they need to economically survive. now go back and have a heart to heart talk with each of them, which one would actually tell you that they have helped you as much as they possibly can? which one, during all this time has withheld the knowledge of the what traditional osteopaths can do? which one would actually send you to “miracle worker” so that you could be free. nice as they are and well meaning, my bet would be nobody because economics is inversely related to intellectual honesty. most of my referrals come from new patients, the growth is spectacular because friends, family and coworkers generally care about each other and have no economic incentive. in my community experience, everybody knows of me or has heard of me. how many of my new patients are referred from chiros, PTs, massage therapists? zero. good luck to you. keep in touch. i hope you find your answer.

  2. Craig Muhammad Says:

    Greetings! I first injured my lower back in the early 90′s working for a furniture company.Over the years I have injured my back through exercise and work.I had a MRI or an x-ray done about 9 years ago,I don’t remember exactly and I think the Doctor mentioned something about a Herniated Disc and showed me a picture of what appeared to be a small bulge.I probably re-injured my back maybe 2 or 3 more times since then.Now I am experiencing what is called heavy legs.I live in Columbus,Ohio by the way and I am currently going through physical therapy at a chiropractor.They claim about 6 weeks of therapy things will be better but so far it seems to be no progress.Maybe I am a little inpatient,but i have a wife and children and I am a little afraid that I will be wasting my time and money.I must mention that i feel numbness and tingling in my fingers also.I have read much of your information on this subject and other issues on your blog as well.I knew nothing about Osteopathy prior to reading your blog.I read somewhere how you helped some people and that they think your some kind of miracle worker and you explained though they feel better the Herniation is still present.It is that kind of honesty that I respect.I really desire a consultation if it is possible.Do you have any suggestions on what I can do.


  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it
    seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence
    on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

    • letrinh Says:

      what a lovely comment! sadly, this thing…this osteopathy is so difficult to explain sometimes, some people need to be convinced by pictures. i should also note that not very many physicians can accomplish these results…i will continue to post new interesting findings…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

